Organic Foods vs. “Natural” Foods

 

Do you sometimes wonder about the safety of the foods you choose to eat?  Every so often you may hear of a certain food that is causing illness to hundreds of people do to salmonella poisoning or some other type of food poisoning. Naturally, you hope and pray that your food selections will cause you no harm.

Before you read on, you might want to click on the video because it offers much more information than what I’ve written here.  In fact, nothing that is written here is included in the video.

During the past few years there have been a lot of noise made about organic foods that are grown under the specifications of the United States Department of agriculture  (USDA) and is certified by the National Organic Program, (the NOP).

So what’s the difference between foods with the organic label and the foods with a label claiming to be all “natural”?

What I have found out is that the organic food production is regulated by a third party, who makes sure that strict regulatory standards are followed by both the farmers and the processors.  The goal is to comply with federal enforcements that would avoid using materials that are considered hazardous to the environment and to the well being of human life.

Normally the “natural” foods are not regulated ( with the exclusion of poultry and meat)  and have no consistent set of rules to comply with. When it comes to monitoring the “natural” meat and poultry regulations, there is a lot of sloppiness that goes on.  From what I can determine, it is up to the corporate marketing departments to authorize which foods should contain the “natural” label, and which foods won’t carry it.

This process of labeling “natural” foods seem too much like politics to me, and have little to do with the interest of the health conscious  customer.  I say this because the foods are all produced in the exact same way.  So why give some the label  and not give it to others?

On the other hand,  I’ve learned that the USDA’s National Organic Program regulates the standards for all types of farms, including wild crop handling and processing.

Armed with this information, I think it is a slam dunk.  There is no doubt to me that the organically produced products wins the discussion.  The foods produced by the NPO are intended to give the customer a greater assurance that the organic foods purchased are certified to be consistent with the organization’s  standards, and will not cause illness such as food poisoning or cancer.

Healthy trails to you

Carolyn

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beverley
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 07:06:40

    Hi Carolyn, Natural vs Organic? I think it depends on what you are eating. If it is produce a good wash is what is needed before it is eaten. The most common cause of salmonella at parties is rice. People have learnt how to handle and cook chicken, which was the most common cause before, but they have forgotten about the rice. Other sources of food poisoning is often BBQ where the meat is not cooked properly or food stored wrongly, but we are learning. As for cancer you may have a point but eating more fruit and veg and less of everything else, including fast foods, ready prepared foods and anything that is highly processed is just as good for us. I think that organic foods have been so over hyped that we need to use our own judgments when eating them just the same as anything else. Eating more Real Food is better for us than eating anything else and eating organic is better than that if you can afford it, but it still needs to come under the Real Food banner.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:23:09

      Hi Beverley. Thanks for the visit, and I very much appreciate it. I know exactly your feelings about organic foods because I felt the same way for a very long time. What chaed my mind about it is when I fully understood the entire process. At first I thought it was just one more thing congured up by the government to get get the consumers to spend more money.. But now I’m convinced that organic foods are the way to go. The crops are grown in a much better restrictions, making them better for human consumption. The same thing for poultry and meats. No harmone growing chemicals are used. and there is a restriction for pesticides and certain fertilizer use. There is more, but this alone sells me.
      Hope you are have a happy Monday. 🙂

      Reply

      • beverley
        Sep 04, 2012 @ 08:11:13

        Thank you for your comment. I agree that eat organic real food, such as fruit, veg, meat, fish etc is better for you but yesterday my daughter and i were in the health shop and we were looking at cereal bars and although the ingredients were organic they were also laden with unpronounceable ingredients and lots of sugar, fructose being the only acceptable one. Also eating fresh is better than eating processed and it all depends of the amount of money that is available for food.

    • thehealthywarrior
      Sep 06, 2012 @ 22:05:02

      Hello again Beverley, I admit that I am surprised that,the National Organic Program would certify foods with preservatives. The following is a passage taken from the Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robyn-o/organic-food-vs-conventio_b_1857802.html “The standards for organic foods include a national list of approved synthetic and prohibited non-synthetic substances for organic production, which means that organically produced foods also must be produced without the use of:
      •antibiotics
      •artificial growth hormones
      •high fructose corn syrup
      •artificial dyes (made from coal tar and petrochemicals)
      •artificial sweeteners derived from chemicals
      •synthetically created chemical pesticide and fertilizers
      •genetically engineered proteins and ingredients
      •sewage sludge
      •irradiation ” End of passage from the Huffington Post.

      I believe that if there are ways for some markets to add things to organic foods that they shouldn’t…they will find that way. I do believe that there are a few people who are hell bent on not following the rules.

      Reply

      • beverley
        Sep 07, 2012 @ 07:01:30

        Interesting! It is what they do not tell us that we need to be weary off. I think i started with organic milk, i rarely eat meat these days partly because of income and partly because it disagreed with me or i with it. As for those living on benefit and organic foods, it is possible to some extent but it takes a great deal of working out and not buying ready prepared food but buying fresh instead and cooking – there i go swearing again. Many young children starting university away from home do not know how to cook a simple meal.

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 09:19:54

    just remember to use organic up quickly — aside from that I agree with you — it is a slam dunk

    Reply

  3. thehealthywarrior
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:34:01

    Hi there. Thanks for the visit to my blog, and thanks for the reminder to use up the organic products quickly. Of course that is very important because there are no preservatives, etc…

    Reply

  4. maggiemyklebust
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 07:40:04

    I always choose organic -when I can… Unfortunately, thats not always possible here in Norway. Its a cold country, with a lot of rain and little sun….Most of the Imported organic food is half rotten by the time it hits the shelves here. I have even bought organic rice and flour in health food stores, only to come home and find it full of bugs. Its also VERY expensive. Maybe its different in the big cities like Oslo or Bergen, but where I live, its a challenge to eat organic 😦
    On a good note… we have to drive 50 miles to get fast food, so we never eat that 🙂

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Sep 04, 2012 @ 19:15:46

      Hi Maggie. So nice of you to visit my blog post today. And I’m sorry about the difficulty you are having in getting a good quality of organic foods. What a bummer.
      But no fast food restaurants around for 50 miles?…That should be my problem LOL

      Reply

  5. souldipper
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 03:23:58

    Different countries use different words and, in some cases, use the same words for different meanings. However, from what I’ve seen, “organic” means the same in our two countries at least.

    I appreciate being able to buy organic year round – I do get miffed over the higher prices, but it does cost more to produce food properly! It is more costly for our stores to get the organic products here – still fresh and “alive”. Plus, producing this food organically is more labour intensive. Sobeit – good health is worth it!

    Who wants to put chemicals into their bodies so fat grows around it to protect us?

    I love being able to buy locally during our growing season though many of our local producers have no qualms about charging lots for fresh, organic, local produce. I used to fuss about it, but I’ve changed my attitude. Why do I begrudge someone, who cares about producing healthy food, from making a decent living?

    Your message is so very valuable, Carol. Thank you.

    Reply

  6. dockfam
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 14:52:07

    You have such great info!!! thanks for being a long time visitor to my blog too…I appreciate you!!

    I’ve nominated you for the “Wonderful Team Member Readership Award” . For details, just visit my most recent post. I will understand if you do not participate, I just wanted to show my appreciation for what you do!! Have a great day!

    Reply

  7. LutheranLadies
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:37:48

    I agree, but there are times, I shrug and buy what’s on sale. Thanks for the info which will keep nudging me to make better choices.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

