Natural Nutrition, or Vitamin Substitution?

Photo compliments of willlkimedia commons CC 2.0

I believe a lot of us have gotten to be so obsessed with our health, that we will take a pill for almost anything.  This isn’t always a bad idea, especially when it is a pill recommended by a trusted physician.  But what if the pill in question is something you can get naturally simply by eating the correct amount of nutrients?  In that case, a well balanced diet is all that will be needed.

If you are already consuming a well balanced diet, don’t throw money out the window.   Unless a doctor should tell you otherwise,  that is what you will be doing when you spend your money on a bunch of un-necessary  vitamins.

Here’s the 411. 

Most nutritionist agree, that the natural food supply is loaded with nutrients; far more than you can get from a pill.

All of our body’s systems depend upon us having a healthy intake of nutrients.  I’m talking about our muscular system, nervous system, skeleton system, and others.   A well balanced diet works to keep all of our body parts healthy.

A great immune system should belong to all of us.  Our immune system will usually hum right along, ready and able to fight off most harmful bacteria and viruses.  So it is most probable that our immune system will get a big boost when we consume a well balanced diet.

The thing is, there is a big difference between taking vitamin supplements to add to the diet and in taking vitamins as a substitution to eating a daily nutritious  meal.

I bring up this point because there are quite a few people who skip meals for one reason or another, (especially those who want to lose weight) and take vitamins as a substitute for that meal instead.

Here lies where the problem is:  No one does themselves any favors by skipping meals and substituting it with vitamins.  Natural foods are packed with much more nutrients than what you will get from a vitamin supplement.  It is through consumption of natural foods, our health will get the biggest boost possible.

I realize that there are certain diseases we may fall prey to despite how great our diet is.   Cancer is one of the diseases that come to mind.  But it is for this very reason that we should consume a well balance diet.   Unfortunately, in some cases, not eating a well balanced diet will create the cancer.

So what we have to remember is:

1) Eat a healthy diet

2) Do not skip meals

3) Do not replace food consumption with vitamin substitution

Look for a report to follow soon of what you might expect from vitamins, and which foods contain the most powerful vitamins.

Healthy trails to you

Carolyn

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 18:42:42

    I cannot even remember to take the supplements I’m supposed to. I better keep juicing 8). Great points!

    Reply

  2. maggiemyklebust
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 18:52:56

    I used to take a vitamin C tablet every morning… Last winter I bought a juicer and started making my own juice and guess what? Not one cold the whole winter!

    Reply

  3. newsofthetimes
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 01:19:30

    Great post! I always wondered about this. Thanks for clearing it up. So, I shouldn’t feel so guilty when I miss a vitamin. What about if you’re trying to get pregnant, which I am not, but always heard vitamins are critical in that time period.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 09:25:19

      Hello again and thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I don’t have any information about taking vitamins to get pregnant; I never heard of that before. But I do know that once you become pregnant, the mother to be should take daily prenatal vitamins to help sustain the nutritional needs of her and the unborn baby.

      Reply

  4. beverley
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 07:29:15

    Many of us are low in vitamin D these days. I recently read an article that said that one of the reasons may be that we use too much sun screen and don’t get enough sunshine, which is very true. I gave up supplements mainly because i would just forget and in the end i found out there was something better – food.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 10:23:49

      Hi there. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment. Yes you are right about the sunshine. Perhaps if you can get at least 20 minutes of sunshine to your skin during the day it will help some…but remember, the sun is usually hotter during the hours of 10am and 4pm. Some of the foods that are rich in vitamin D includes mushrooms, soybeans, eggs, and fatty fish like salmon, catfish, sardenes, and macreal.

      Reply

  5. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 07:42:52

    looking forward to that
    I am a woman of a certain age, and was told at my last physical (last week) that we should be getting our calcium from food as supplements have been linked to heart disease — hopefully you will speak to this too – really the only thing that was advised was Vitamin D for me

    Reply

  6. Louise G.
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 12:35:26

    Hi Carole — great advice — and some I sorely need to read as I have a tendancy to skip meals when I’m focused on something, anything actually, which is a lot of time! 🙂 My Dr. told me that Vit D is essential — drop form only — and that most North Americans are low on it. So I do take my drops every morning, and I do drink a protein/supplement/greens every morning. And when I remember, take my supplements and eat healthily.

    PS — thanks for dropping by my place –I’m so glad you left a comment and brought me here too. I’ve visited before, and will do so more often. You’re a great place to find the reminders I need to stay healthy. Blessings!

    Reply

  7. lutheranladies
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 08:22:12

    Thanks, I’ve often wondered about this. I supplement my calcium…when I can remember. And yep. I skip meals, too. So this was an interesting read for me.

    Reply

  8. thehealthywarrior
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 10:54:53

    Hi Louise. So glad you found me again. I’ve heard that the pill form of vitamins do not always metabolize properly. Which could be the reason why your doctor told you to take the drop form of the vitamin D. As I stated in the post… unless otherwise instructed to do so by your physician, then consuming a natural well balanced diet should give you every bit of the amount of nutrition you need.
    I’ll be back to visit with you soon. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Alan Cohen
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 12:52:14

    I really agree with your point here. Many studies have shown that certain vitamin supplements can increase risk. For example, I know a researcher who compared many different studies and showed that taking vitamin E supplements increases the risk of mortality!

    This may not be true for all supplements. It seems that it’s good to take folic acid before and during pregnancy, and many elderly people may have calcium deficiencies. But as you say, these are things a good doctor will tell you. There can be risks to having too much of something, but also risks to having not enough. We don’t know the right balance yet, so we play with fire when we try to micromanage our vitamin intake. Natural, healthy foods are the solution: our bodies evolved to deal with the mix of nutrients we get from a normal, healthy diet!

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 15:38:48

      Hello there, and thanks for the visit today. You and I seem to be on the same page when it comes to vitamin suppliments. Just keep right on eating healthy and we can save money on NOT buying un-necessary vitamins 🙂 …unless for health reasons, the doctor tells us differently.

      Reply

  10. souldipper
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 04:23:24

    Yummmm…please pass the raw veggies. I’ll sit here and graze – happily! I just went out for dinner and had a heavy pasta meal. Yike…I apologized to my body.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Aug 18, 2012 @ 03:16:41

      Hi Amy, so nice of you to drop by. You are so funny…LOL. No need to apologize to your body. You should be able to eat everything in moderation. I agree, the veggies are an excellent choice.

      Reply

  11. Tim
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 01:18:20

    My wife has low iron. Once a month for female reasons she has to take it. I’m blessed to not have any deficiencies and choose to eat more vegetables and food to get my intake of vitamins. This is how I discovered avocados! They are full of so much nutrition.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:32:45

      Hi Tim. Thanks for stopping by. Yup, avocados are not only full of nutrients,especially the healthy fat. They taste great too. We have a couple of friends with avocado trees in their back yard and they are very generous with them towards me. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

