Don’t Sabotage Your Diet because of Hunger

Hungry? Dieting? Dieting and hungry? Gee, I’ve been in that predicament many times in the past. It took me awhile, but I finally caught on to what I needed to do in order to beat the hunger pangs. Many times when I was faced with hunger pangs, I’d seek satisfaction by binge eating. Once I started my bingeing, there was never enough food to satisfy me. In other words, I’d throw my diet and anything resembling a diet right out the window. It seemed that I’d make a small step forward but only to take a giant leap backwards. The hunger pangs and the binge eating were both destroying my chances for success. Thankfully I was able to outsmart those hunger pangs, and stopped the binge eating for good. AND I went on to lose more than 100 pounds. So you see, it is possible for you to lose weight without feeling deprived or hungry. This is how I did it.

First of all, a very helpful tip would be to stop thinking of yourself as being on a diet. This is especially helpful for people who have a large amount of weight to lose. For most of us, diets don’t work. Diets are usually abandon long before we can get halfway through. And unfortunately, most will regain whatever weight that was lost. So forget the diet mentality and switch to a lifestyle change instead. Make your new eating habits a lifestyle change and you will never have to diet again.
Getting through the rough patch will take a little time at first, but once you get through that, it will all be a piece of cake…pardon the pun. Here is what you do to avoid getting hungry:
Get into the habit of eating 5 to 6 times per day. In addition to eating breakfast lunch and dinner, include a snack during the day, and another one during the evening. For some people, it is a good idea to have 3 snacks instead of 2…and that would be okay. They may need 1 mid-morning, 1 in late afternoon, and a final one late evening. Also, drink plenty of sugarless beverages throughout the day. I personally drink diet ice tea or water with a few drops of lemon juice added. I drink coffee also, but I usually limit it to only once in the mornings. The snacks should not be another meal (obviously), but something you like and will be satisfying for you. And the snacks should not be loaded with calories. There are many different delicious foods to choose from, but keep them low in fat and sugar content. I’m currently working on a free PDF document called “100 Great Snacks for any Time of the Day.” Please check back later this month and I hope to have it posted.
Make your meals tasty. No need for bland foods like cottage cheese and lettuce leaves every day. There are plenty of delicious foods you can have. It is a good idea to fill up on high fiber vegetables also. They will help to keep your stomach feeling full and satisfied. Experiment with vegetables and learn to cook them several different ways. Sometimes I add lemon juice to certain veggies, or I may add a little salsa sauce. I thought I would never appreciate vegetables at the extent that I do, but finally I get it and they are delicious.

When you eat what you like, your foods will sustain you. You will be happy and less prone to overeat, binge eat, have cravings, or make unwise food choices. If you can do these things, I can practically promise you that the pounds will melt away…no more hunger, no more binge eating, and no more diet sabotage.
Healthy trails to you
Carolyn

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve
    May 01, 2012 @ 16:17:28

    You’ve hit the nail on the head – only lifestyle changes will change a life!

    Reply

  2. thehealthywarrior
    May 02, 2012 @ 00:27:57

    Thanks Steve. I obviously agree. Much thanks to you for dropping by.

    Reply

  3. nyparrot
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 00:27:06

    I agree 200% – dieting will only produce short term results (if at all), and then what? Nothing spectacular, that is for sure…lol… On the other hand, little life style changes will change your health and appearance long distance. Little steps – one less spoon of sugar a day, glass of water instead of soda, and so on… And, of course, – exercise – whether it’s a Gym, Zumba class, tennis session or a long walk in the park. I am wishing everyone good health and happiness!

    Reply

  4. thehealthywarrior
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 08:10:40

    Thanks for your visit today and for leaving your lovely comment…it makes perfectly good sense to me šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

