Is Green Tea Worth all the Buzz?

OISHI GREEN TEA                           OSHI GREEN TEA:WIKIMEDIA COMMONS CC BY SA BY 3.0

I know what you must be thinking.  This is just another article to make you feel all warm and fuzzy about drinking green tea every day.  And to this I will give the diplomatic answer yes…and no.

The fact is, for countless of years there has been evidence of many benefits in drinking green tea.  Such benefits include: antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and antimicrobial benefits, and also a weight control benefit to some degree.  Recent research data shows that the health benefits we receive from drinking green tea, is very significant.

Most of us already know that green tea has been a part of the Chinese diet for many years… more than 3ooo years in fact.  I heard a short report on T.V. recently that there has yet been another study done on green tea recently that links it to cancer prevention in older women.  Researchers at Vanderbilt University, studied more than 69,000 older Chinese women over a decade.  The study produced evidence that those who drank green tea on a regular basis had a lower risk of  developing cancer of the digestive system…including the throat, stomach, and colon, than the women that didn’t.

According to the National Cancer Institute, there have been a few clinical trials done in the past to show that green tea can cut cancer risk, but all of the previous research have been inconsistent.  The researches of this new study acknowledged that none of the women smoked or drank alcohol regularly, and also there was data collected that included the women’s diet, weight, exercise, and medical history.

Since green tea drinkers tend to be more health conscious, some have suggested that green tea in itself may not be the reason for the decline in the cancer risk.

In my opinion, green tea is a soothing drink, has a great taste, and has many potential benefits even without that of a lower cancer risk.  Are you a green tea lover?  Given all of the possible benefits to drinking green tea, are you more, or less apt to drink it regularly?  I’d like to read your comments.  Until next time, healthy trails to you.

Carolyn

 

 

 

.

.

.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steve
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 16:38:46

    If it makes you happy, drink up! Lol I like green tea myself, although I don’t drink tea everyday.

    Reply

  2. beverley
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 10:35:30

    No i don’t drink green tea, neither has my mum and dad and my mum was 82 2 weeks ago and my day 83 today and both in relative good health. I would say for them it comes down to good food and hard work.

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Oct 27, 2012 @ 12:28:07

      Hi Beverley. I think the study points out that the people who drink green tea are more educated and health conscious. They tend to watch their weight and their diet, they exercise more (hard work) and they tend to have a better medical history in general. What roll green tea has to play in their health remains unclear.

      Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Oct 28, 2012 @ 15:31:31

      HA HA HA…you are probably right!
      Have a good Sunday :)

      Reply

  3. maggiemyklebust
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 08:09:36

    I ALWAYS drink green tea, my favorite is green tea with mint. It comforts me, I love it and that has to be good for something :)

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:30:12

      Hi Maggie. Thanks for your visit and comment today. You and I are alike in a way. My green tea at home is not as good as what I get in the Chinese Restaurant. But I take it plain without the mint added. :)

      Reply

  4. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 10:58:27

    I love green tea at a Chinese restaurant, but what I make at home does not taste the same — I will just have to keep experimenting. It is interesting to note that those who drink green tea are already health conscious and this is where we should be concentrating our efforts
    As always– a thoughtful and interesting post

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Oct 29, 2012 @ 11:40:40

      Hi Louann. Thanks for the visit. I like the green tea in the Chinese Restaurants best also. Being health conscious is probably a factor that drives me to drinking it…besides I happen to enjoy it very much.

      Reply

  5. Louise G.
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 12:37:51

    Hi Carolyn — I too like to drink green tea — not everyday, but then I don’t tend to drink hot drinks other than a cup of coffee in the morning everyday. But when I do drink hot, I love green tea, lemon and ginger! Nice to know it’s also good for me! :)

    and I figured out why I couldn’t find your blog — I was always getting the old one — I needed to refresh my browser! so simple. so easy. and here you are.

    Cheers,

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 19:52:11

      Hi Louise. So nice to see you here today. Yeah, I really need to put the old blog to sleep..LOL I too drink green tea, sometimes in the mornings, but mostly in the afternoons. I am also glad to know that it is good for us. :)

      Reply

  6. Karen Wan
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 02:20:33

    Hi Carolyn, thanks for this post. I’ve started drinking more green tea later, and I’ve noticed it does make me feel better. My favorite is Zen tea from Tazo which has some mint in it too. :)

    Reply

    • thehealthywarrior
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:49:38

      Hi Karen. Green tea makes me feel good too. With all the possible health benefits, it couldn’t hurt to drink a cup every day or so. I don’t particularly care for the mint, however. I know some people who do. But I like it plain, like I get in the Chinese Restaurant. However my tea at home is not as good as what I get in the Chinese restaurants. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

